RSS

Toddlers are helpful.

16 Mar

Some of the ways Grace “helps” me throughout the day:

When getting dressed, she’ll open the drawers and pick out my underwear, socks, shirt and pants for me (always in that order). Sometimes she helps me put on my pants or socks.
When using the bathroom, she opens the toilet lid for me, holds my hand as I sit down on the toilet, pushes on my knees to “help push the pee out”, pulls up my pants (and sometimes zips them), closes and flushes the toilet.
She likes to open the bathroom cabinet and hand me my deodorant. She likes to open the bathroom cabinet to grab her toothbrush and toothpaste. She likes to open the kitchen cabinet to grab her reflux medicine. (Her getting things from the cabinets means I have to hold her up so she can reach.) If I’m carrying her from room to room, she likes to turn the lights off and on.
She doesn’t always do all of these things every time, but there’s always the possibility of her wanting to do all of these things every time looming over me like a rain cloud, threatening a storm if I neglect to let her help. It’s possible to get something done on my own, but there’s always the possibility that if I “forget” to ask her if she wants to help in some way, she’ll freak out and we’ll have to go back and start whatever it is over from the beginning (which is not always possible, especially if we’re talking about the bathroom).

As one can imagine, we have a pretty specific morning routine where Grace “helps” me get dressed before breakfast. It’s a good thing we don’t have to get anywhere in a hurry every morning, but then again it’s probably because we don’t have a place to be that we were able to develop this drawn out routine. I’m trying to think of something funny to say about toddlers and routines and whatnot that can end this post, but I’m coming up blank so I’ll just say that life is good.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 16, 2012 in baby

 

Leave a Reply

 
