RSS

Pregnancy Post: 26 Weeks

27 Mar

[We’re just going to ignore the fact that I haven’t written anything about my pregnancy until now.]

Last Wednesday, I had my 26 week prenatal appointment. I had the gestational diabetes screening (with orange juice instead of glucola). Blood pressure, fetal heart rate and weight were all good. At my 22 week appointment, I was measuring 24 cm, and now I’m measuring 30 cm. The midwife reassured me that the measurements had a 2 cm wiggle room, and that there were many reasons I could be measuring a little bit larger than expected. She wasn’t worried, so I’m trying not to worry.

Coincidentally, it was last week that I started having stomach capacity issues. It took me a few days or so, but I’ve figured out that I can eat from half to 2/3 of what I normally eat at a meal without feeling like I’m going to explode. The first few meals, I just felt like I was going to vomit for hours after the meal. Then one day I felt like I couldn’t eat anything, and was somewhat worried that my first trimester food aversion (everything sounded and smelled disgusting and I had to force myself to eat at times) was back, but it only lasted a day or so.

I’m gradually getting used to this new food limitation, as I’m gradually getting used to the limitations in my activity. I’m mostly able to keep up with my energetic little one as well as keep up with some housekeeping, as long as I make sure to rest throughout the day. I also have to pay more attention to what position I’m sleeping. Overdoing it in the garden plus sleeping in a less optimal position left me with almost a week of back pain that I’d like to avoid.

My belly is only going to get bigger. I’m only going to have to run (waddle) to the bathroom more frequently. I’ll probably get into a better habit of sleeping when Grace sleeps (such as for naps). Bring it on.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2012 in mama

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Pregnancy Post: 26 Weeks

  1. Courtney

    March 27, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    I’m so excited for you guys. It’s a big change, but obviously so worth all the challenges. Hope the rest of your pregnancy is uneventful and lovely.

     
    • foodbabymama

      March 29, 2012 at 10:48 am

      Thanks! I’m hoping we don’t have any of the drama that happened at the end of my pregnancy w/ Grace.

       

Leave a Reply

 
